BOOKS (or in other words, the meaning of life)

It seems I have a magnetic pull towards any bookshop in my vicinity and I think I can say (with 100% certainty) that I am a book reading addict. Without fail, no matter how high the pile of books I am steadily making my way through at home, I almost always have to buy a book when I am in a bookstore, because I always see something I’m drawn too (It’s literally like new books are new friends: that’s how excited I get when I first meet with a book, and get to know it.) And I’ve realised, I’m entirely not ashamed to say: I like spending time alone, I like reading, in fact I like it a lot more than being sociable, but what’s wrong with that? For me, reading is not only an escape but I feel like it inspires my mind to broaden its horizons and I love reading books that I feel change or alter me, and as I watch characters evolve I sometimes feel (or hope) that I’m evolving too. I also read such a wealth of books because I want to write, and naturally, I have to draw inspiration from somewhere, and reading can spark interests and words I never knew I had inside me (not that my writing’s by any means good yet, but it’s something I get a thrill out of). 

Anyway, anyone reading this (most likely only me), is probably wondering what the point of this blog post is, and I’ll admit I get slightly carried away once I start gushing about something I like, so I’ll try and get to the point.

I’m currently reading my 44th book for the year, The Savage Detectives (you can see what I’ve read this year, here, on my goodreads profile: http://www.goodreads.com/iris-livia) but I recently read The Secret History by Donna Tartt, and I wanted to write a review, for my second blog post since last year, as the book blew my mind.

Whenever I think of the book I get a longing to completely re-discover it, and almost the desire to be able to read it again for the first time. The characters and events still have and had, when I was reading, a spine tingling ethereal and mystical quality and I was so wrapped up in the haunting and beautiful phrases and shadowy descriptions. 

As I was reading, I was completely in awe of how intellectual this book was. I kept dog-earing pages and having to refer to a dictionary to look up all the words I didn’t know. In other circumstances, this may have frustrated me or taken me out of the story too much, but this wasn’t the case at all with The Secret History. I was so engrossed, that to get comfortable reading it even after going away for a while, I didn’t have to do anything at all, almost immediately I was drowning in the words and the clever language only added to the book’s splendour.

I certainly found there was so much moral ambiguity in this novel, and all of the characters unnerved me; there was a lot I didn’t like about them, but this was the magic of the novel, I didn’t have to to keep reading. And somehow, despite huge flaws, they were interesting and their elusive natures at first, as Papen describes them, immediately gave them that ethereal quality and I was left wanting to know more. I was almost in a trance, sometimes when reading this book. It is certainly a book that takes you outside of yourself, which is exactly what I like.

I don’t want to give much of the plot away, because this story is so full of secrets (see what I did there) that giving anything away would spoil it, I think. Just read it.

I loved the mythological aspects and learning more about the mystifying and magical ways of the Greeks and their crazed worship of the god Dionysus. Richard Papen’s first lesson with the others (Camilla and Charles Macaulay, Bunny Corcoran, Francis Abernathy and Henry Winter) and their wise and strange teacher, Julian Morris, fascinating, and I only wish there could have been more of their examination of destructive passion and ‘the terrible seduction of Dionysiac ritual’.

This book is full of macabre filled scenes, fatal flaws and strange, twisted characters. Yet somehow, with compelling and lyrical writing, this work is a masterpiece. Of this book the first Greek phrase that Richard Papen ever learnt is certainly true, Beauty is harsh.

I’m going to end this review with a quote from this spell-binding novel: ‘Beauty is terror. Whatever we call beautiful, we quiver before it.’

7 thoughts on “BOOKS (or in other words, the meaning of life)

  1. It’s intensely gratifying to know that there are other people like me out there! Even from the post above it’s absolutely clear you’re passionate about what you read, which is great, particularly in this day and age when everything seems to be pretty pointless and superficial… The one thing I cannot stand is when people look at you askance because they simply don’t appreciate the pleasure reading provides. Of course, they are the ones missing out, so it’s their loss, but it’s still infuriating… I do wonder if a natural sociability and true enthusiasm for books are mutually exclusive; all I know is that no-one else I know (save my sister) loves books as much as I do. Needless to say, I agree with you that time spent in the company of a book is infinitely preferable to that spent in the company of most people of my acquaintance! As for not being able to pass a bookshop without buying something (particularly from second-hand bookshops), the three bookcases in my bedroom alone- and the countless stacks adorning the floor- can attest to my own weakness in that respect. Just a note to show someone actually did read what you typed (I followed the link from your Wattpad page; I don’t know if that’s sort of weird or not [I hope not])!

    Best regards

    • I’ve always loved the quote that goes something along the lines of ‘books are the only things you can buy that make you richer’. I think it’s so true, and it’s so great there are still people like you and me who appreciate reading so much! I was in yet another book shop this weekend! I think it’s great to talk to others who are also completely in love with books and, when I find someone who likes a book as much as I do, or recommends one, I usually find that’s when I’m most animated and talkative! I’d love to visit more second-hand bookshops as I haven’t been in any lately- the other month I saw a bookshop on a boat which looked pretty cool! I’m completely the same- my books are overflowing from my shelves and I have a countless number to read (116 officially, I think, on my goodreads account, but there’s probably so many more). It actually makes me sad that I’ll probably only skim the surface of all the great literature out there in the world. Out of curiousity, what’s your favourite book? And no, it’s not weird at all that you followed the link; I’m glad someone did! And thank you for checking out my Wattpad page too.
      All the best!

      • That’s a good quote! I’ve not heard it before, but I like it. Would I be correct in guessing that you bought at least one book from the bookshop you went to? Needless to say my time spent last week in the middle of nowhere in Buckinghamshire resulted- despite the fact that there were only about three shops in the vicinity- in the purchase of yet more books… You know you really have a problem when you can’t even bring yourself to avoid going into Waterstone’s (or even, at a stretch, W. H. Smith’s), even though you were just in another branch on a different high street a few days before. The sad realities of being a book-lover. Of course second-hand bookshops are much more interesting, but any port in a storm will do! The bookshop-boat does indeed sound awesome, but the thought of all those lovely books sinking into the depths is a depressing one!

        I definitely agree with you that other people who read a lot are those with whom I can most easily have a worthwhile conversation; even if you’ve no books in common there’s a particular way of thinking, it seems to me, that makes for far less difficulty in terms of finding common ground. The reader tends to have more of an imaginative, less dry and dull way of looking at the world, which, when one considers how much of the world is actually rather boring, is really quite important!

        As for what my favourite book is… that’s a hard question. Of course these things change with time (or at least they do if you’re as indecisive as I am!), with every new book (hopefully) being a new contender for the top spot, but usually you can at least give a top three of books you’ve read. I suppose I would say my favourite author is Jorge Luis Borges, simply because what he writes is so varied and creative, and of his books the first I read (and I think generally the best known) is ‘The Aleph’ (which I read at the same time as another anthology of his stories, ‘Labyrinths’, which was from Penguin. In fact, both were, as I recall). I’m never sure in recommending things to anyone, simply because- with books as with so much else- it’s such a personal, subjective thing, but I would definitely say there’s something for everyone in his writings, and indeed in that volume. Another writer, similarly varied in his output, is Italo Calvino, who I’ve only recently started to read, and would also recommend. Aside from Borges, I think Camus has written some of the best books I’ve ever read, again simply because of the sheer imaginative effort he must have had to bring to bear in creating his stories (in a Borges-like vein, in fact, is his book ‘The Exile and the Kingdom’, which although it carries certain philosophical themes is far less a vehicle for his thoughts in the way that The Outsider, The Plague etc are; they’re also brilliant, though!). I also have a soft spot for Anthony Powell, in particular the Dance to the Music of Time sequence, which as I understand it is either loved or despised by those who read it. I suppose my Goodreads page gives some indication of other things I’ve read and enjoyed, which is here should you feel inclined to take a look: https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/13828377
        My account is however sadly rather a wasteland, in as much as all I do is add several books at a time and rate/ very occasionally review them… and I’ve taken, I think, two of the quizzes someone or other made. I will take a look at yours to see what books I should add to my to-read list!

        I hope the summer’s going well (and, naturally, that you’re getting the chance to get a lot of reading done)!

      • I agree with all your sentiments, and especially the idea that even if I’ve had one trip to a bookstore extremely recently, it doesn’t stop the feeling that I need to go to another very soon after to explore the vast riches and oceans of knowledge and insight that are books yet again, in yet another place (and I completely agree, this means I will buy from basically anywhere- even WH Smith’s, although I think it’s so important to support independent bookstores and second-hand ones.
        The reason for this extremely late reply is that I’ve just been on holiday, where, naturally, I went book shopping and was surprised to find that the store “Half-Price books” actually had a huge collection of stylish secondhand books and new ones too, and I probably could have stayed there all day. Coincidentally, two of the books I bought second-hand were Albert Camus’ The Plague and The Stranger with optical illusion-like covers as I’ve been meaning to read Camus for some time! So I’m glad you recommended his works. Thanks for the other recommendations, too (I think yet another book shop is needed). The thought of losing a book in water is pretty much unbearable for book-lovers, I agree. I often get so paranoid about books getting crumpled or wet, but sometimes, I like a worn copy because it looks owned and cherished.
        What’s nice about meeting new people who you don’t know very well (I’d imagine), but that share a love of books is maybe, sometimes (this may sound cliched), the type of books they read can reveal a lot of interesting layers to that person you’d never discover, otherwise. I think books can help to wash away dreary or dismal thoughts and the mundaneness that can set in in life.
        My reading’s going very well! I’m on my 49th book this year, Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (a brilliant author) and just recently read Snow Flower and the Secret fan about women in 19th century China. I hope your reading’s going well too! Enjoy the rest of summer.

      • I hope you went somewhere interesting (and that the weather was nice, naturally- as always it’s been changeable here)! I suppose the reason one is always able to walk into another bookshop directly after spending ages browsing is that there will always be a book on the shelves that one completely forgot to look for in the previous shop, or indeed something completely unexpected that simply must be bought!

        In a way each bookshop- particularly independent ones, of course- has its own character which isn’t just about the interior layout and paint colour and what have you, but is really about the choices the owner makes when stocking the shelves. For instance there’s a shop in Kingston, the name of which I unfortunately cannot recall off the top of my head, which has books that are in many cases fairly well-known, and by prominent authors, but which I for one have never actually SEEN on shelves anywhere, and certainly not in places like Waterstone’s (this allowing for the fact that Waterstone’s is actually pretty good in terms of the range of what they sell).

        I definitely agree that supporting second-hand and independent bookshops is vitally important; of course it’s very convenient to simply log on to Amazon and have things delivered, but browsing is an integral part of the experience for most book-lovers, and to lose that would be a real shame. I know I dread the thought of my local second-hand bookshop closing (which I suppose is why I spend so much time and money there…).

        Talking to someone about books very definitely gives a level of insight into their character and personality, as far as I’m concerned. Not that I particularly judge people harshly on it, but if you’re talking to someone who seems pretty interesting and you mention books and their response is ‘I don’t really do any reading’, you really do just kind of think ‘…oh. Right.’ I suppose it’s ‘to each his own’, but I always think it’s such a shame for people to be missing out! There must be SOMETHING they’d enjoy, if they just had a look! Probably part of the problem is that everyone has to be attached to a tablet or iPad or whatever else all the time (not to discount the merits of these devices in general, but it does get tiresome seeing everyone on a train tapping away; couldn’t they just… read a book?).

        I can definitely recommend The Stranger; I have The Plague (no, not like that, haha) but I’ve only had a brief look at it to date. Meursault is a well-written and intriguing character, however hard to relate to (if perhaps only in some respects…). I hope you enjoy them! Your other recent reads sound pretty interesting too; do you just go for what looks like a good read when you come across it in a shop, or do you tend to go by recommendations, or do you have another ‘method’ when it comes to picking what to read next? It’s always interesting to get an insight into how other people look at things like this!

        Slightly worn copies of books have in several cases been very precious objects to me (R.I.P. my first copy of the 1980s Penguin edition of ‘The Myth of Sisyphus’, lost on a bus journey a few years ago..!); as you mentioned, not only does the patina of age and use represent its value but additionally lets it actually fit in one’s hand comfortably, if that makes sense. I can’t count the number of times I’ve bought a brand new book and had it feel like an awkward block in my hands; partially that’s because one feels obliged to maintain its pristine condition for as long as possible, I guess!

        Speaking of books getting ruined- we’ve recently got two kittens, who as is customary for their type enjoy racing about the place, including running roughshod over stacks of my books, no matter where I put them. Oh well!

  2. The Secret History was such an awesome book! I haven’t read it for about four years… wish I hadn’t given my copy away; I need to get another. Really great to see someone else who enjoyed it!

    • I think it’s the kind of book I could definitely see myself returning to in a few years! You definitely should. I had an already worn copy at home and I’ve already completely made it my own, dog-earing pages and sticking in post-it notes because there’s so many haunting passages that I kept lingering on. I’m gland you enjoyed it too!

Leave a comment